Concerts & Clubbing

Wednesday 23 September, 2009

* Eddie’s Attic – an excellent evening spent listening to Ten out of Tenn, and restoring my faith in the South (in terms of music). Anirban had stumbled upon this live-music venue after researching the beginnings of John Mayer, so we decided to try this quaint little music room out – and what a pleasant surprise! Ten out of Tenn is a 10-person music collaboration of local American artists, mainly from Tennessee but also Chicago, playing indie-rock (reminded me of Broken Social Scene). During their performance, each artist would take the lead in singing & playing the guitar, whilst the others supported them, and this rotation went on for the entire night. My favourite performances were by Kyle Andrews, Mikky Ekko, and Joy Williams though the others were also really good! It was hard to decide which album to buy at the end of the night, but Jana, Anirban and I ended up getting 4 (Andrew Belle, Mikky Ekko, Joy Williams as well as the group album).

From the outside...

From the outside...

Ten out of Tenn (the entire band)

Ten out of Tenn (the entire band)

Mikky Ekko, Joy Williams and Jedd Hughes (guitarist for Keith Urban)

Mikky Ekko, Joy Williams and Jedd Hughes (guitarist for Keith Urban)

Jedd Hughes

Jedd Hughes

For their encore, the band got off the stage and sung 'Don't worry, be happy' in the crowd. It was so sweet!

For their encore, the band got off the stage and sung 'Don't worry, be happy' in the crowd. It was so sweet!

Me and Jana quite excited at the end

Me and Jana quite excited at the end

Clockwise from top left: Joy Williams, Mikky Ekko, Ten out of Tenn Volume 3, Andrew Belle

Clockwise from top left: Joy Williams, Mikky Ekko, Ten out of Tenn Volume 3, Andrew Belle

* Opera – after the initial success of Eddie’s Attic, I was excited to go out afterwards, and had heard that Opera (supposedly the ‘best’ club in Atlanta) was open for 18+. It’s incredibly difficult for me to go out in America because of their outdated and unnecessary rule of 21+ entry. So this was a rare opportunity and we rustled up enough people to grab a cab. Donning our nice clothes, we were ready to have a good evening…..but what a LETDOWN! Nobody was there by the time we got to Opera (round 1:00), except for a few shady short ugly guys. They were like moths which we had to try to swat away. I am disappointed that the only way in which Americans know how to dance (at least those in the South, I stand corrected about the rest of the country but hopefully I’ll get to see if NY is different) is to grind. I guess the slow r&b beats encourages this style, but all you see in the club is couples (guys/girls, sometimes girls/girls) dry humping. Get a room!!! In this respect I miss European or Australian clubs where you can have fun and dance with guys without worrying about your clothes flying off.

Also, needless to say, the international students were by far the best dressed. Next time I’m going in shorts!

Our house director actually thought we were going to see the opera, as opposed to the club. Ahh, I love the Europeans!

Our house director actually thought we were going to see the opera, as opposed to the club. Ahh, I love the Europeans!

In da club...Angie, Jana and myself - IB girls!

In da club...Angie, Jana and myself - IB girls!

 

Thursday 24 September, 2009

* Sean Kingston – Headline act for Homecoming Week. To be honest, I hadn’t really heard of any of his songs except for “Me Love”, so went frat hopping instead and only caught the last 20 minutes of his act. By the time I went to Sean Kingston, I being the asian lightweight, was sufficiently happy to listen to him croon ‘beautiful girls’. Not the most amazing concert I’ve been to but it was still enjoyable!

Sean Kingston

Sean Kingston

* After party at Moya – another 18+ club night, but surprisingly it was good! For one thing, there were more people, and although there was still excessive grinding, they played a variation of music (rnb given, but also pop and dance) that I had a great time dancing monkey style (ala flailing my arms around) with friends. Also, my new dress code for clubs: shorts, sneakers and tank! Assists with crazy dancing and also means I don’t have to worry about my dress being ruined!

An even crazier cab ride - 11 people this time. Now I know how it feels to be a sardine

An even crazier cab ride - 11 people this time. Now I know how it feels to be a sardine

Moya

Moya

View from the stairwell at the end of the night. Most people had already left

View from the stairwell at the end of the night. Most people had already left

When we got back to the IB house, we chilled in the lounge and sobered up by listening to U2. They’re coming to Atlanta and I shall be seeing them in 2 weeks! And Muse is their supporting act!!! All for $35! (although we’ll only prob see them as little dots).

Si Wei and Marco

Si Wei and Marco

Will be hiding in my bat cave to study intensely this weekend. Have a 30% international finance exam next week – need to get my act together! It feels like it’s been a 3 month holiday thus far!

Leave a comment